top of page

Venice Fellowship Programme

Karin Li

(This article was written in May 2022.)


British Pavilion installation “Feeling Her Way” at Venice Biennale 2022.


I am grateful and happy to take part in the Venice Fellowship Programme. It is an opportunity offered by the British Council for students to spend a month in Venice during the art biennale. I have just returned to the UK after travelling to Venice.


As part of the first cohort of Fellows in April, we met with artist Sonia Boyce and curator Emma Ridgway. It was great to hear them speak about their ideas and curatorial intention behind the British Pavilion installation “Feeling Her Way”. Boyce brought together accomplished Black British women singers to improvise, interact and play with their voices. I really like the title and how the work fits in this year’s Biennale theme “The Milk of Dreams” and that we are encouraged to embrace uncertainties, take risks and expand our imagination.


My time as a fellow was split between working at the British Pavilion in Giardini, conducting my research project and exploring Venice. At the pavilion, I invigilated, welcomed and engaged with visitors. I have enjoyed the interactions. As part of my research, I invited visitors to write short phrases and poems in response to the work. Many of the writings warm my heart. I managed to use some free time to explore other pavilions and collateral events that spread across the floating city. In particular, I liked the Dutch Pavilion, which presented Melanie Bonajo’s “When the body says Yes” in a deconsecrated 13th-century church in Cannaregio. I also visited the tranquil cemetery island (Isola di San Michele) and found out more the history behind. Being in Venice for a month means that I can take in the art and beautiful architecture ‘with a bit more breathing space’ compared to if I was just visiting. Yet, there’re things I still want to explore! I did not get to see Austrian artist Hermann Nitsch’s 20th Painting Action.


Some of the first cohort of Fellows in April.


During the time I met many wonderful people and learned a lot from my peers at the British Council. I miss the vaporetto (Venice’s water bus), the pasta and €1.50 cappuccino. I wish I had picked up more Italian though. Ciao!


  • MAGS logo
  • UoL Logo
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page