top of page

Museum Studies Placement: Chester Zoo



When thinking about a museum studies placement, its safe to say not many people would think of a zoo. However, seeing Chester Zoo on the list, I couldn’t deny it fit all the requirements I was looking for in a placement. And that’s how I spent my 8 weeks placement working with the amazing Exhibition and Interpretation team at Chester Zoo!


Why I chose it?


As I already had previously worked with object collection and documentation, I was hoping for some practical experience in exhibition research and development. Tying in my science and environmental background was an extra plus to a well-rounded experience in a working environment. Especially after doing a year of virtual learning, the idea of being outdoors and connecting with nature was very appealing.


So how does this placement relate to museum studies?


Well, interpretation is a vital part of an exhibition. Figuring out the right tone, audience, and platform for communication is what connects the visitors to the exhibition’s message. This still rings true for Chester Zoo with the main differences being that the collection is alive, and the narratives centred more in the present day. The signage around the zoo develops visitors’ connection to nature, introduces the animals, and brings awareness to the zoo’s crucial role in conservation.


My role has been to start developing the initial research and recommendation for an exhibition on illegal wildlife trade with a potential link to Covid-19 to relate to present day events. Alongside this i also completed smaller projects. So far, I have been working on developing my writing skills to fit the Zoo’s brand and the procedures taken to create the signs from conception and research to putting it up. I have created signage introducing the animals to the visitors, instructions for the public on how to make a garden more wildlife friendly, and the impacts of the exotic pet trade.


However, a lot more steps can be taken other than writing to develop the right narrative. Audience analysis are done to understand how the visitors interact with the signage, how they understand the content, and how they also use the space around the sign. I even took the opportunity to understand the other platforms used by the Zoo to communicate their conservation messages by assisting in the local outreach events for kids and looking into the work of the digital team. At Chester Zoo, the interpretation team is also responsible for maintenance of the sign which provided me the great opportunity to be out putting up the signs and learning the procedures to for checking existing ones (which was also great way to see the animals!)


With only two weeks left and my projects coming to an end, I am incredibly satisfied and happy with how my placement has turned out. Not only was it a refreshing environment to work in after this past year, but the staff have been incredibly amazing and supportive through out my journey here. I was definitely made to feel like one of the team and made some amazing friends! Also, Chester Zoo has worked hard to provide a student friendly place with accommodation provided, a staff canteen available in zoo, and a general great location for travel with both Manchester and Liverpool nearby. I can’t recommend this placement enough to any prospective students and hope I can be back soon to see the final results of my hard work!


Written by Asifa Patel

  • MAGS logo
  • UoL Logo
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page